Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP




Sword and Sworcery is a point and click adventure game. Developed by the Superbrothers, collaborating with Jim Guthrie and Craig D. Adams. A trailer was then released on February 2011 followed by the release of the iPad version on March 2011. Superbrothers for their game ‘Sword & Sworcery EP’ have also won the ‘Independent Games Festival Mobile Achievement in Art Award’ back in 2011.

Over 1.5 million copies of Sword & Sworcery have been sold across the globe. The game has been praised a lot in its graphics and sound effects. The story of the game is interesting with lots of riveting features. Let’s discuss them here.


Sword & Sworcery EP is full of amazing features. The game experience has overall been powerful and mesmerizing. The fact that it features a female lead has got me some what captured, because what can be more badass than a confident and brave woman?


Scythian, is a member of a nomadic tribe having Iranian origin. They migrated westward from Central Asia to the Ukraine and Russia. They lived and prospered in Crimea until invaded by the Samaritans. In this game, the protagonist is a Scythian. You need to guide the character and go on about the game completing tasks. She is a fearless warrior, valiant and on an adventure guided by an all-knowing god.

Girl, the protagonist’s friend, whom you might have to rescue in the game.

Logfella, he is your guide, your friend, your partner in all of this adventurous journey.

Dogfella, the friendly dog. Another pal of the protagonist and the people of the village.

The Archetype, he is the game’s narrator, he acts as a guide. Speaks to the protagonist in between missions and provides with hints.

The Grizzled Boor, is a somewhat minor but significant character, he is there in the woods minding his own business and you might have to kill him in order to get some advantage. It’s all a choice. You have to choose between your compassion and your need for taking advantage of the poor creature.


Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP Gameplay

A game which has been set in a fantasy world full of soothing and heavenly and appealing views of nature. It’s a world of wild animals and magical beings and magic too. The player takes the control of the main character, the Scythian and together they embark upon a journey for the so-called Megatome. After acquiring this artifact, player or the Scythian can now perform magic as well as read people’s and some animal’s thoughts. The audio and the graphics play a major part in the game.

The player guides the Scythian by touch and tap method. In order to combat, you need to rotate your screen at right angle, when you do that a sword appears and you start fighting. If the Scythian’s health diminishes then you must eat ‘Red Mushrooms’ to restore the Scythian’s health. Raving these mushrooms plays a special music which only plays when you eat those mushrooms.

Time affects a great deal in the play. At the beginning of the first session the developers warn the player that it is going to take half an hour to complete and so it happens that it is true. Some events of the game only occur if the moon is in a certain kind of phase and you need to wait your time for that and by that I mean that the time in your real world is in sync with the time in the game. But if you cannot wait that long then you must visit the ‘moon grotto’. Moon Grotto is a cave that is obscured that is revealed later in the game.

The Scythian is able to communicate with the girl at the beginning of the second session, she tells the Scythian how to sing the ‘song of sworcery’. You can activate this ability by tap and hold mechanism. The songs of sworcery hold quite significance that they can be used to find the sprites and change the world so that you can find the trigons.


Difficulty Level

Since it is point and click puzzle game it is not as much difficult to play as it is lengthy to play. Because the time in the game’s world is in sync with the time of our real world. The puzzles are not that harrowing to solve. All in all it is pretty easy to play.


The levels in this game are termed as ‘Sessions’. The game has been divided into four sessions in total.

Session I, in session I you will encounter Logfella who will agree to be your guide through the woods, here you will have your first fight too. After you are done with your adventures, go back to Logfella finish your session I and move onto the next session.

Session II, in this session you will meet the girl. You will learn about the songs of sworcery and sprites through the girl. You will have your second fight here which will comprise of three phases. After you are done with the fight, you will be having the possession of the Trigon.

Session III, the session begins with your broken body being found by the LogFella. You will also encounter the dark and bright moon phases which you can cheat too. This session ends after a battle where you are found at a lake. Attend the rock show where Jim Guthrie is performing, mingle with people and your session ends here.

Session IV, it is the last level or the session, in this you head back to the Trigon Groove with your trophy. You meet the girl again and follow her to the locked gate. After a chase, you will be required to fight the wolf, one last time. After you have defeated the wolf, keep on moving to the final area of the game. When you reach there you will encounter a guardian and three stone pedestals. After hitting those pedestals with your sword, kill the guardian, hold your sword up high and you are the conqueror of the game.


Graphics & Sound Effects

Graphics are very fine and artistic. Everything in the game is pixelated The scenery has been laid out pretty cleverly. It requires audio visual clues together. The pixels are very cleverly laid down as 2D. All in all the graphics are a work of art and they are beautiful and aesthetic.

Sounds and tracks play a major role in the game. The music has been designed by Jim Guthrie. Here’s a list of tracks that are in the game and at what time they play.


  • Dark Flute 02:40
  • Lone Star 02:35
  • Doom Sock 02:35
  • The Prettiest Weed 02:19
  • The Cloud 03:50
  • Under A Tree 05:03
  • The Maelstrom 01:56
  • The Ballad Of The Space Babies 03:06
  • Unknowable Geometry 04:02
  • Bones McCoy 02:06
  • Ode To A Room 01:43
  • The Prettiest Remix 00:56
  • The Whirling Infinite 02:30
  • Little Furnace 03:25
  • Bonus Track Intro 00:01
  • Cabin Music (Bonus Track) 02:39
  • Battles 1(Bonus Track) 00:48
  • Battles 2 (Bonus Track) 00:35
  • Com64 (Bonus Track) 01:21
  • Mushrooms (Bonus Track) 02:15
  • Death To Everyone (Bonus Track) 01:13
  • Confronting The Wolf (Bonus Track) 01:20
  • Up A Mountain (Bonus Track) 01:28
  • Activating Trigons (Bonus Track) 01:23
  • How We Get Old (Bonus Track) 05:21
  • And We Got Older 04:47
  • Bonus Track Outro 00:02

Other Special Features

You can take help from your friends on Twitter by tweeting certain situations or dialogues.

There have been audio fixes in this new version.

Jim Guthrie’s special ballads are also available on iTunes.

Bottom Line

With a female warrior they have done a pretty kickass job. The music is unbelievably amazing. The graphics are praiseworthy. The adventures are interesting, addictive and easy at the same time. There have been a lot of thought put to the game’s story and hence it makes it even more worthwhile to play. I would recommend all of the games fanatics to play this and I guarantee they won’t be disappointed.


Compatible Devices iOS Universal
Version Off App 1.16
Version iOS 8 or later
Size 202.73 MB
Developer Capybara Games Inc.
Genre Adventure

Similar Apps

Written by